

TUCSON AIRPORT AUTHORITY | Nominating Council Thursday, October 24, 2024 | 11:00 a.m. | Virtual Meeting

THIS ADVISORY COUNCIL MEETING WAS HELD VIRTUALLY, WITH COUNCIL MEMBERS ATTENDING VIA MICROSOFT TEAMS OR TELEPHONICALLY. MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC WHO COMPLETED A REGISTRATION FORM RECEIVED A LINK TO VIEW THE MEETING OR TO LISTEN BY PHONE.

1. CALL TO ORDER | ROLL CALL

Chair Lovallo called the meeting to order at 11:01 a.m.

Council Members Present: Chair Lisa Lovallo, Vice Chair Brandt Hazen, Council Member Phil Swaim, Council Member Rhonda Piña, and Council Member Shaima Namazifard

Council Members Absent: Council Member Taunya Villicaña* and Council Member Carol Stewart

*Council Member Villicaña attempted to join the meeting but was unable to due to technical issues.

Staff Present: President/CEO Danette Bewley, Deputy General Counsel Kim Outlaw Ryan, IT Customer Support Technician Hector Lopez, and TAA Clerk Byron Jones

2. <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u>

There were no corrections or amendments to the minutes of the Nominating Council meeting held on August 19, 2024.

Motion by Council Member Swaim, seconded by Vice Chair Hazen, to approve the minutes of the Nominating Council meeting held on August 19, 2024. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (5) Lovallo, Hazen, Swaim, Piña, and Namazifard

Nays (0)

3. PRESIDENT/CEO REPORT

State of the Industry | Update

President/CEO Danette Bewley reported the following:

- □ TUS has seen a 12.4% increase year-over-year in passenger activity and is currently leading when compared to its peer airports.
- □ There are currently an average of 68 daily departures.



□ Air Service Development continues to aggressively market TUS. They recently met with JetBlue Airlines and American Airlines with the goal of restoring service to the New York and Boston markets.

4. NOMINATIONS | APPLICATIONS

a. Emeritus Member Applications

The Council considered the emeritus request submitted by Member Stephen Quinlan.

Motion by Council Member Namazifard, seconded by Council Member Piña, to recommend to the Board of Directors that it approve Stephen Quinlan's request to transition to Emeritus Member at the expiration of his term as a Member on January 26, 2025. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (5) Lovallo, Hazen, Swaim, Piña, and Namazifard

Nays (0)

b. New Member and Director Nominations

The Council discussed the merits of the eight nominees that were included in the packet. It considered factors such as profession, community involvement, and how each individual could contribute to increasing diversity within the membership.

The Council's consensus was to move forward the following nominees for election to the TAA:

KYM ADAIR

Motion by Vice Chair Hazen, seconded by Council Member Namazifard, to nominate Kym Adair for membership in the Tucson Airport Authority for an initial 15-year term, subject to review by the Board of Directors and election by the full Membership at the Tucson Airport Authority's Annual Meeting on January 27, 2025 (Pursuant to TAA Bylaws §§ 2.1.2(a)(ii), 2.2, and 3.5). The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (5) Lovallo, Hazen, Swaim, Piña, and Namazifard

Nays (0)



ELLIOTT CHEU

Motion by Council Member Swaim, seconded by Council Member Piña, to nominate Elliott Cheu for membership in the Tucson Airport Authority for an initial 15-year term, subject to review by the Board of Directors and election by the full Membership at the Tucson Airport Authority's Annual Meeting on January 27, 2025 (Pursuant to TAA Bylaws §§ 2.1.2(a)(ii), 2.2, and 3.5). The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (5) Lovallo, Hazen, Swaim, Piña, and Namazifard

Nays (0)

□ <u>MAUREEN "MIMI" COOMLER</u>

Motion by Council Member Namazifard, seconded by Vice Chair Hazen, to nominate Maureen "Mimi" Coomler for membership in the Tucson Airport Authority for an initial 15-year term, subject to review by the Board of Directors and election by the full Membership at the Tucson Airport Authority's Annual Meeting on January 27, 2025 (Pursuant to TAA Bylaws §§ 2.1.2(a)(ii), 2.2, and 3.5). The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (5) Lovallo, Hazen, Swaim, Piña, and Namazifard

Nays (0)

□ <u>TINA DORSEY</u>

Motion by Council Member Piña, seconded by Council Member Swaim, to nominate Tina Dorsey for membership in the Tucson Airport Authority for an initial 15-year term, subject to review by the Board of Directors and election by the full Membership at the Tucson Airport Authority's Annual Meeting on January 27, 2025 (Pursuant to TAA Bylaws §§ 2.1.2(a)(ii), 2.2, and 3.5). The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (5) Lovallo, Hazen, Swaim, Piña, and Namazifard

Nays (0)



□ <u>NANCY KLUGE</u>

Motion by Vice Chair Hazen, seconded by Council Member Piña, to nominate Nancy Kluge for membership in the Tucson Airport Authority for an initial 15-year term, subject to review by the Board of Directors and election by the full Membership at the Tucson Airport Authority's Annual Meeting on January 27, 2025 (Pursuant to TAA Bylaws §§ 2.1.2(a)(ii), 2.2, and 3.5). The motion carried by the following vote:

```
Ayes (5) Lovallo, Villicaña, Swaim, Piña, and Stewart
```

Nays (0)

The Council's consensus was to not move forward the following nominees for election to the TAA:

GIOVANNI GARCIN

Motion by Council Member Namazifard, seconded by Council Member Piña, to set aside the nomination of Giovanni Garcin. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (5) Lovallo, Hazen, Swaim, Piña, and Namazifard

Nays (0)

RICHARD LIVINGOOD

Motion by Council Member Namazifard, seconded by Council Member Piña, to set aside the nomination of Richard Livingood. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (5) Lovallo, Hazen, Swaim, Piña, and Namazifard

Nays (0)

□ JIM MOONEY

Motion by Council Member Namazifard, seconded by Council Member Piña, to set aside the nomination of Jim Mooney. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (5) Lovallo, Hazen, Swaim, Piña, and Namazifard

Nays (0)



The Council's consensus was to move forward the following nominations for Director:

Motion by Council Member Namazifard, seconded by Council Member Piña, to nominate Vance Falbaum and Tim Overton to three-year terms on the Board of Directors, commencing on January 27, 2025, subject to review by the Board of Directors and election by the full Membership at the Tucson Airport Authority's Annual Meeting on the aforementioned date (Pursuant to TAA Bylaws §§ 2.2, 3.5, and 4.1.2). The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (5) Lovallo, Hazen, Swaim, Piña, and Namazifard

Nays (0)

c. Recommendation on Corporate Officers for 2025

Chair Lovallo reported that she had reached out to the current directors. Based on these discussions, the recommended slate for the 2025 corporate officers is the following:

Chair of the Board:	Mike Hammond (Two-year term)
Vice Chair of the Board:	Phil Swaim
Secretary:	Vance Falbaum
Treasurer:	Rhonda Piña

Motion by Council Member Namazifard, seconded by Vice Chair Hazen, to recommend to the Board of Directors the slate of corporate officers for 2025: Chair Mike Hammond, Vice Chair Phil Swaim, Secretary Vance Falbaum, and Treasurer Rhonda Piña (Pursuant to TAA Bylaws §§ 2.2 and 5.1). The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (5) Lovallo, Hazen, Swaim, Piña, and Namazifard Nays (0)

5. NEXT MEETING

Monday, November 4, 2024 at 2:00 p.m. | Virtual Meeting via Microsoft Teams

6. ADJOURN

There being no further business to discuss, Chair Lovallo adjourned the meeting at 11:45 a.m.



MINUTES

PREPARED BY:

mes

Byron Jones, TAA Clerk

Date: December 9, 2024