

TUCSON AIRPORT AUTHORITY | Public Safety Personnel Retirement System (PSPRS)

Local Board Meeting

Tuesday, July 18, 2023 | 8:00 a.m. | Virtual Meeting

THIS BOARD MEETING WAS HELD VIRTUALLY, WITH BOARD MEMBERS ATTENDING VIA MICROSOFT TEAMS OR TELEPHONICALLY. MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC WHO COMPLETED A REGISTRATION FORM RECEIVED A LINK TO VIEW THE MEETING VIA MICROSOFT TEAMS OR TO LISTEN TELEPHONICALLY.

1. CALL TO ORDER | ROLL CALL

Vice Chair Villicaña called the meeting to order at 8:02 a.m.

Board Members Present: Vice Chair Taunya Villicaña, Board Member John Ivanoff, and Board Member Scott Lackey (Fire)

Board Members Absent: Chair Jim Ronstadt and Board Member Raymon Smith (Police)

Staff Present: Local Board Attorney Andrew Apodaca, Esq., and Local Board Secretary Byron Jones

Others Present: TAA Executive Vice President/COO Bruce Goetz, TAA Fire Chief Tom Tucker, and TAA Deputy General Counsel Kim Outlaw Ryan

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion by Board Member Ivanoff, seconded by Board Member Lackey, to approve the minutes of the PSPRS Local Board meeting held on May 8, 2023. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (3) Villicaña, Ivanoff, and Lackey

Nays (0)

3. RETURN-TO-WORK ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATIONS

Board Counsel recommended that the Board convene in executive session to receive legal advice pertaining to the return-to-work determination for Karyn Antosh.

Motion by Board Member Ivanoff, seconded by Board Member Lackey, to convene in executive session to receive privileged legal advice from the Board Counsel. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (3) Villicaña, Ivanoff, and Lackey

Nays (0)



Vice Chair Villicaña recessed the public meeting, and the PSPRS Local Board went into executive session at 8:06 a.m.

The executive session adjourned at 8:22 a.m. Vice Chair Villicaña reconvened the public meeting at 8:23 a.m.

i. Karyn Antosh

Board Member Ivanoff stated that Karyn Antosh retired from TAA and worked with another agency for several years. She was rehired by TAA in 2018 in a civilian role that was never a PSPRS-eligible position.

Motion by Board Member Ivanoff, seconded by Board Member Lackey, to find that Karyn Antosh retired from TAA on March 1, 2015, that she was rehired by TAA more than 12 months after her retirement date, that the position of Police Programs and Emergency Management Coordinator <u>IS NOT</u> a PSPRS-eligible position, and that the Alternate Contribution Rate <u>IS NOT</u> owed. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (3) Villicaña, Ivanoff, and Lackey
Nays (0)

ii. Alfred Guinee

There was no discussion.

Motion by Board Member Ivanoff, seconded by Board Member Lackey, to find that the position of Police Officer <u>IS</u> a position typically filled by a covered employee, and therefore the Alternate Contribution Rate <u>IS</u> required.

Ayes (3) Villicaña, Ivanoff, and Lackey
Nays (0)

4. PRE-EXISTING CONDITION DETERMINATIONS

The Board combined the pre-existing condition findings for Hunter Moritz (Item 4. i.), Christopher Parvi (Item 4. ii.), and Daniel Daw (Item 5) into a single motion and vote.

i. Hunter Moritz

ii. Christopher Parvi

Motion by Board Member Lackey, seconded by Board Member Ivanoff, to declare zero pre-existing conditions for Hunter Moritz, Christopher Parvi,



and Daniel Daw, as listed in the pre-existing condition reports in the Board packet. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (3) Villicaña, Ivanoff, and Lackey
Nays (0)

5. PRE-EXISTING CONDITION DETERMINATION AND MEMBERSHIP TERMINATION

Motion by Vice Chair Villicaña, seconded by Board Member Lackey, to terminate Daniel Daw's PSPRS membership with the Tucson Airport Authority, effective the date of his voluntary resignation, June 22, 2023. The vote carried by the following vote:

Ayes (3) Villicaña, Ivanoff, and Lackey

Nays (0)

6. **NEXT MEETING**

Tuesday, October 17, 2023, 8:00 a.m. | Virtual Meeting via Microsoft Teams

7. ADJOURN

There being no further business to discuss, Vice Chair Villicaña adjourned the meeting at 8:31 a.m.

APPROVED BY:	Prepared by:
James Ronstadt,	Byron M. Jones, CMC
Chair	Local Board Secretary
Date:	Date: