

TUCSON AIRPORT AUTHORITY | Nominating Council Meeting Thursday, October 19, 2023 | 1:30 p.m. | Virtual Meeting

THIS ADVISORY COUNCIL MEETING WAS HELD VIRTUALLY, WITH COUNCIL MEMBERS ATTENDING VIA MICROSOFT TEAMS OR TELEPHONICALLY. MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC WHO COMPLETED A REGISTRATION FORM RECEIVED A LINK TO VIEW THE MEETING VIA MICROSOFT TEAMS OR TO LISTEN TELEPHONICALLY.

## 1. CALL TO ORDER | ROLL CALL

Chair Lovallo called the meeting to order at 1:31 p.m.

**Council Members Present:** Chair Lisa Lovallo, Council Member Taunya Villicaña, Council Member Phil Swaim, Council Member Rhonda Piña, and Council Member Carol Stewart

Council Members Absent: Council Member Brandt Hazen

**Staff Present:** President/CEO Danette Bewley, Vice President/General Counsel Chris Schmaltz, Deputy General Counsel Kim Outlaw Ryan, and TAA Clerk Byron Jones

#### 2. <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u>

Council Member Rhonda Piña stated that she arrived late to previous meeting but was marked as absent. Vice President/General Counsel replied that the records from the previous meeting would be reviewed and that the minutes would be updated accordingly.

Motion by Council Member Swaim, seconded by Council Member Villicaña, to approve the minutes of the Nominating Council meeting held on September 26, 2023 with the correction that Council Member Piña be marked as "Present" if confirmed by the record. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (5) Lovallo, Villicaña, Swaim, Piña, and Stewart

Nays (0)

### 3. PRESIDENT/CEO REPORT

State of the Industry | Update

President/CEO Danette Bewley reported the following:

□ The United States Senate Commerce Committee is close to making a recommendation on the nomination of a permanent FAA administrator. The position has been vacant over 18 months.



- American Airlines, Delta Airlines, and United Airlines are working with the United States Department of State to evacuate United States citizens from Israel affected by the current conflict.
- □ TUS passenger volume is continuing to improve. The airport will end the year at pre-pandemic levels or higher.

# 4. NOMINATIONS | APPLICATIONS

a. Emeritus Member Applications

The Council considered the request from Sally Fernandez to become an Emeritus Member. There was no discussion by the Council.

Motion by Council Member Villicaña, seconded by Council Member Piña, to recommend to the Board of Directors that it approve Sally Fernandez's request to transition to Emeritus Member at the expiration of her term as a Member and Director on January 21, 2024. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (5) Lovallo, Villicaña, Swaim, Piña, and Stewart

Nays (0)

b. Continuing Member, New Member, and Director Nominations

No applications for Continuing Membership were received during the nominating period.

The Council discussed the merits of the nine nominees that were submitted for the current year. After evaluating the applications and discussing what each candidate would contribute to the organization, the consensus was to nominate Michael Levin, Rose Lopez, and Lesah Sesma-Gay as new members of the TAA.

Motion by Council Member Stewart, seconded by Council Member Villicaña, to nominate Michael Levin, Rose Lopez, and Lesah Sesma-Gay for membership in the Tucson Airport Authority for an initial 15-year term, subject to review by the Board of Directors and election by the full Membership at the Tucson Airport Authority's Annual Meeting on January 22, 2024 (Pursuant to TAA Bylaws §§ 2.1.2(a)(ii), 2.2, and 3.5). The motion carried by the following vote:

- Ayes (5) Lovallo, Villicaña, Swaim, Piña, and Stewart
- Nays (0)



After further discussion, the Council's consensus was to also nominate Rob Elias and Karla Gonzales as new members of the TAA.

Motion by Council Member Swaim, seconded by Council Member Stewart, to nominate Rob Elias and Karla Morales for membership in the Tucson Airport Authority for an initial 15-year term, subject to review by the Board of Directors and election by the full Membership at the Tucson Airport Authority's Annual Meeting on January 22, 2024 (Pursuant to TAA Bylaws §§ 2.1.2(a)(ii), 2.2, and 3.5). The motion carried by the following vote:

```
Ayes (5) Lovallo, Villicaña, Swaim, Piña, and Stewart
```

Nays (0)

The Council considered the self-nominations submitted by Members to serve on the Board of Directors. The consensus was to nominate Director Todd Jackson to a second three-year term, Director Judy Rich to a third three-year term, and Member Ellen Wheeler to an initial three-year term.

Motion by Council Member Villicaña, seconded by Council Member Piña, to nominate Todd Jackson, Judy Rich, and Ellen Wheeler to three-year terms on the Board of Directors, commencing on January 22, 2024, and subject to review by the Board of Directors and election by the full Membership at the Tucson Airport Authority's Annual Meeting on the aforementioned date (Pursuant to TAA Bylaws §§ 2.2, 3.5, and 4.1.2). The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (5) Lovallo, Villicaña, Swaim, Piña, and Stewart

Nays (0)

c. Recommendation on Corporate Officers for 2024

At the request of Council Chair Lovallo, President/CEO Danette Bewley relayed a conversation she had with Board Chair Keri Silvyn that Vice Chair Mike Hammond, Secretary Phil Swaim, and Treasurer Vance Falbaum would like to continue in their current positions for another year. Council Member Swaim confirmed his willingness to serve another term as Secretary.

Board Chair Silvyn's two-year term runs through January 2025; therefore, the Council did not have to make a recommendation for that position.

Motion by Council Member Villicaña, seconded by Council Member Piña, to recommend to the Board of Directors the slate of corporate officers for 2024: Vice Chair Mike Hammond, Secretary Phil Swaim, and Treasurer Vance



Falbaum (Pursuant to TAA Bylaws §§ 2.2 and 5.1). The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes (5) Lovallo, Villicaña, Swaim, Piña, and Stewart

Nays (0)

## 5. NEXT MEETING

It was announced that the meeting scheduled for November 8, 2023, would be canceled, the Council having completed its business for the year.

## 6. ADJOURN

There being no further business to discuss, Chair Lovallo adjourned the meeting at 2:15 p.m.

**PREPARED BY:** 

me

Byron M. Jones, CMC, TAA Clerk

Date: October 14, 2024